Dr. Ameet R. Valia

101, Harganga Mahal Annexe, Dadar TT, Mumbai – 400014. India.

Tel: 24141018 (Clinic); 24110600 (Residence); 9930042036 (Mobile)

E-mail:  arvalia@gmail.com

 Present Attachments

Hon. Dermatologist, Dept of Dermatology, Mumbai Port Trust Hospital, Mumbai; Global Hospital, Parel, Mumbai

Academic Qualifications

MBBS (Grant Medical College, Bombay University, 1984)

DVD (Grant Medical College, Bombay University, 1986, 1st rank)

MD (Institute of Medical Sciences, BHU, 1989)


Postgraduate Experience

Lecturer, Department of Dermatology and STDs, LTMMC, Mumbai (1990-1991)

Past Positions

Honorary Dermatologist, PT Clinic, Sir HN Hospital (1994-2012)

Hon. Professor, Dept. of Dermatology, Dr DY Patil Medical College (2008-2010)

Honorary Dermatologist, Hindu Sabha Hospital (1993-2003)

Publication Experience

  • Chief Editor, IADVL Textbook of Dermatology, 1st-3rd editions (1996-2009)
  • Chief Editor, What’s New in Dermatology, STDs and Leprosy? (a quarterly bulletin for dermatologists since 1992)
  • Editor. Lichen planus. New Delhi: Jaypee; 2013
  • Editor. Update in Dermatology. Mumbai: Bhalani Publishing House; 1998
  • Member, Editorial Advisory Board (1998-2000 & 2009-2017), Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprology (www.ijdvl.com) [earlier, Asst. Editor (1993-1997, 2001-2002), and Associate Editor (2003-2008)], Indian Journal of Dermatology, Indian Dermatology Online Journal, Pigment international, International Journal of Trichology, International Journal of Scalp and Hair Disorders, Somaiya Medical Journal, Indian Clinical Updates – Dermatology (Wiley), and Analytica Medica
  • Reviewer, Indian Journal of Medical Sciences, Journal of Postgraduate Medicine, Indian Journal of Dermatology, Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India, International Journal of Advanced Medical and Health Research, Indian Journal of Pediatric Dermatology, and BioMed Research International

Association Memberships and Positions

  • Chairperson, IADVL Academy (2016-17) and Convener/Member, IADVL Constitution Committee (2012), IADVL Constitution Committee (2013), IADVL Awards Committee (2009-2010), IADVL Website Committee (2005-2007; 2011), and IADVL Therapeutic Guidelines Committee (2005-2007)
  • Chief Scientific Coordinator, Central Scientific Committee, DERMACON-2017; Scientific Coordinator, Central Scientific Committee, DERMACON-2015 and DERMACON-2016; Chairperson, Scientific Committee, CUTICON (Maharashtra) (2007, 2013  & 2016) & DERMAZONE WEST-2013 (IADVL state and zonal conferences) and Member, Scientific Committee, XIth International Congress of Dermatology (New Delhi, 2013), DERMAZONE WEST-2009 (Ahmedabad), DERMACON-2004 (Mumbai), and 5th Asia-Pacific Environmental and Occupational Dermatology Symposium (Mumbai, 1999), Onychocon-2014 (Mumbai)
  • Joint Secretary, IADVL (National), 2000; Secretary, IADVL (Maharashtra Branch), 1996-1998; Managing Committee member, IADVL (Maharashtra Branch); Central Council member, IADVL
  • Member, Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL), Indian Association of Leprologists, Cosmetic Dermatology Society of India, Indian Society of Pediatric Dermatology, Hair Research Society of India, and International Fellow, American Academy of Dermatology, Pigmentary Disorders Society (India), Association of Medical Consultants


  • IADVL President’s Award in 2013 and 2015

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *